Working in the Wilderness

7 Aug

So! Brandon & I started our jobs this week! Yep, that’s right…WE.

I got a job at Denali Lakeview Inn and started on Sunday. It’s a 20 room bed & breakfast. And it’s right on Otto Lake which is really nice. (Same views as our living room) It’s a total of 3 minutes from our house. The position I got is a seasonal housekeeper. Yea I am a HOUSEKEEPER! But it’s only until the middle of September or until I get a job in the school system. So I think I will survive. But it is kind of funny that I have a bachelors degree and I’m cleaning toilets….

Now about Brandon…he started work on Monday. He works at the Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge. (Hence the title of this post.) Heehee. He is working as a seasonal maintenance worker. He will work there until mid-October or until a better opportunity comes along.

As you can tell..Annabelle & Ruby are doing great! Surprisingly, our kitties have settled in quite nicely here.

20120807-210401.jpg

20120807-210426.jpg

In other news, Brandon & I bought a vehicle tonight! Yay! No more bumming rides from the parents! Lol. Here is our gorgeous new wheels!!

20120807-210658.jpg
But really, it will get us from point A to point B, it is 4-wheel drive, and it’s winterized (meaning it has a block heater on it for the frigid winter temperatures). The lovely dents on the corners of the roof are from it being rolled last winter. Hahaa. But remember..it runs great..oh did I mention we bought it for less than $1000 bucks!

After we bought our new hot ride, we decided to take it out on the town so we ate at Rose’s Cafe. It was delicious! I had the chicken fried steak with homemade, just out of the oven, apple pie a’ la mode. It was amazing!

20120807-211313.jpg
I promise we don’t eat like this all the time!!

Here is Brandon and me. Brandon refused to take any pictures tonight. Lol. (This was after he broke the handle off the driver’s door of our lovely new truck. And we now have to use pliers..)

20120807-211535.jpg

Our Alaska adventure may not be a walk in the park but we will have PLENTY of funny stories to tell our children someday!! 🙂

Love to all!!
Bethany (& Brandon)

7 Responses to “Working in the Wilderness”

  1. Dunkle Do August 7, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    R there any hot chicks working up there? I might come up and marry me an eskimo woman. She builda me a igloo, keep me warm. Me hugg’em eskimo.

    • Bethany August 7, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      What’s the hold up? Move on up! You would really enjoy the low key life up here. Mom has a greenhouse that you could grow your inappropriate vegetables in!

  2. Aunt Terri August 8, 2012 at 2:41 am #

    Remember Jesus associated with prostitutes, tax collectors and fishermen. He probably is ok with cleaning toilets. Love, Aunt Terri

  3. Donna Groves August 8, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I love to read your blog!! Glad you’re having fun!!<3

    • Bethany August 8, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Thanks Donna! I am very much enjoying writing this blog!! 🙂

  4. Karla Millay August 8, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I love reading this blog. You crack me up. I love you and miss you all terribly.

  5. Johnna Whitmore August 13, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Sounds like you guys are having a great time. Keep the posts coming. Nice to keep up with you guys.

Leave a Reply

